My Highlights (Not About My Hair. Well, Not Entirely.)

My Highlights (Not About My Hair. Well, Not Entirely.)

I would be lying if I told you 2012 was one of my favorite years, but I do understand that gratitude, along with owning my perspective of things, are the secrets to happiness. It is true that no matter how hard or how many times Madame Universe decides to bitch-slap you, if you have these tools in your arsenal, you’re going to be okay. In that spirit, instead of wasting any time at all on pondering how astonishingly shitty 2012 was, here are some reasons it rocked!

1. My kids are healthy and reasonably happy. My little one started school and is obsessed with learning, and my big one has a teacher this year who loves and appreciates her, and makes her feel like learning maybe isn’t so boring.

2. After almost nine years of marriage, I am still crazy in love with a great guy who loves and appreciates (and puts up with) me.

3. And who made the entire dinner last night! (And poured a great wine!)

4. My wonderful parents have been able to help out again with watching the kids, and my kids are able to enjoy getting to know and love both sets of their grandparents. I hope to be able to post this one every year, but deeply appreciate the gift of being able to post it now, and for as many years as I can.

5. Despite how mediocre a friend I’ve been this year, self-absorbed at times in my own worries and woes, I have had wonderful “angel” pals show me extraordinary displays of kindness and caring. Very close friends pulling me up off the mat when I’ve been knocked down, others simply reaching out, letting me know they were thinking of me.

6. I went on a mini-vacation with a friend in Florida in June and spent four days sitting around, not focusing on anyone’s needs but my own!

7. I just got new eyeglasses after eight years and I can read highway signs again! (Talk about improving perspective…)

8. I discovered a whole world of new writing friends via social media–relative “strangers” who lend advice, share information, “retweet,” interview me and let me interview them, allow me to post on their blogs, invite me on blog hops and to join their promos, download and read and review my books. The camaraderie has been amazing. Thanks, guys!

9. And speaking of books–I still can’t believe I landed a publisher this year, Diversion Books, who put out not one, but two of my books. The second, The Girl, the Gold Tooth & Everything, acquired from a synopsis and a sample chapter. I’ve been in book publishing 20 years this year. The amazingness of this is not lost on me.

10. I just got my hair cut and highlighted after about seven months! (So just a little bit about my hair.)

11. I watched three great movies in a row with my husband last night! (Ted, The Help, Red.)

12. I got a Kindle and have already read two and a half great books since Christmas (A State of Jane by Meredith Schorr; Finding Lucas by Samantha Stroh Bailey; started The Dating Game by Susan Buchanan) and I now have the ability to be able to give back more to my writing community.

13. I’m here. (And as long as I am, I can keep improving myself and my world. Doesn’t get better than that.)

So there you have it: Lucky 13 as we approach 2013! It’s amazing that no matter how crappy and down you may be feeling, forcing yourself to name some things that are going right can really lift you.

Don’t believe me? Try it yourself. And PLEASE, share just one of these with me in the comments section below.

And check out this great idea, which will make your next year’s inventory much easier to manage:

And here’s Steve Maraboli‘s great Facebook group you can join to keep you in the practice of being thankful for all you have:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/157468344270522/

So sayonara 2012. Don’t let the door slam you too hard in the tushie. And all the best to all of you in 2013!

xo

Francine

10 thoughts on “My Highlights (Not About My Hair. Well, Not Entirely.)

  1. I loved this. Don’t hate me if I use this idea myself…it’s just too good to not steal! You put a smile on my face. I wish we could actually get together in person in the new year. That would make my list for the coming year!

    Like

  2. Thank you soooooooo much for sharing! It’s motivated me to write a year-ender! I’m with you about how uplifting our online virtual friends are so amazing. The “friends” we know via the computer are incredible. Wishing you a happy, healthy 2013! xoxo cindy

    Like

  3. Absolutely loved this post. It was amazing how many of your 12 would figure on my list too and I adore the idea of the note jar. The thing I am most thankful for this year is getting pregnant (baby due in April) closely followed by publishing 2 books. The note jar will be perfect, and full I guess, with all the wonderful things that will happen in 2013, particularly with the baby. All the best for 2013! Sooz

    Like

  4. What a great post, Francine! I am thrilled to have “met” you, first through our mutual friend Alison and then through our writing careers. I am glad that you have so much to be grateful for this year and wish you even more reasons to be thankful in 2013. Cheers!

    Like

  5. Hello Francine!

    What an AWESOME blog post! LOVE it! A wonderful way to end the year – with gratitude.
    I followed your cookie crumb trail from Steve Maraboli‘s great Facebook group, “The World’s Largest Gratitude List” (love that group too), and was quite happy I followed your trail.

    Always fun to discover a new blog and your blog is a refreshing one.

    I’d like to list TWO wonderful things from my 2012, in no particular order:

    1. Meeting my wonderful boyfriend who I’ve been with for the past 8 months. Best guy ever. Best boyfriend ever. Best relationship ever. And yes, he cooks too!

    2. This one is ironic, but one of the best things that happened to me was getting to work for a publishing company this year, for a brief time. It was a good experience for me and got me writing a book again. I decided to leave it to work on my own book. But it was a great learning experience.

    Congrats on getting both books published!

    I look forward to continuing to follow your journey!

    My best wishes to you for 2013,
    Aurora aka Anima Blue 🙂

    Like

      1. Hi again Francine!

        I am writing a Dark Fantasy book. Started it years ago and had stopped. But feeling the writing vibes to continue it again.

        It IS great to connect!

        Cheers,
        Aurora 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

