The Next Big Thing: Authors Tagging Authors

The Next Big Thing: Authors Tagging Authors

I used to think that the greatest-ever part of writing a book was actually writing a book. Well, I guess I do still kind of feel that way, but something I never imagined has come out of the book experience: Joining a wonderful community of writers. While the experience of writing is solitary, the experience of promotion is anything but. Thanks to the women (and men) I’ve been meeting these past months, via social media, I’ve learned so many things about how there really is “strength in numbers” and that it really does “take a village” to promote a book!

Last week, I was tagged by the amazing Isabella Louise Anderson in her blog for “Authors Tagging Authors”–a fun and creative way for authors to help other authors get noticed. She started a group on Facebook called Chick Lit Goddesses that’s been a wellspring of information and encouragement for me as I launch The Girl, the Gold Tooth & Everything, and I was honored she chose to tag me. At the end of this post are authors who graciously agreed to be tagged by me. Go check them out!

Speaking of checking out, please follow me on Twitter, connect with me on Facebook, and check out my website!

And now without further ado… Here’s the Q&A we’ve been asked to post–the skinny about our next book!

What is the working title of your book?
A Comfortable Madness

Where did the idea come from for the book?
The book is about people making bad choices, mainly romantic ones, and the sometimes tragic ramifications that go along with it. It’s also about how people rationalize and live with these choices, trying to pretend they’re okay with the crazy (i.e. a “comfortable” madness). I have been married for nearly nine years. There was a good 25 years of dating before that. So… Well… Now you know where the idea comes from!

What genre does your book fall under?
I think this one is solidly women’s fiction. Anyone looking for the quirkiness of Rita Hayworth’s Shoes or the kookiness of The Girl, the Gold Tooth & Everything won’t be disappointed, but A Comfortable Madness is probably my darkest work to date.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
I’ve been dreaming this one up for a while, so when I started, I saw Reese Witherspoon as Annie and Paul Rudd or Tobey Maguire as Hugh. Though I think by the time this book gets finished, those guys will be way too old! (My characters are all in their early 30s. I think that’s an important age in a person’s romantic development. Old enough to understand what true love should be, but young enough that infatuation and impulse still kind of rule.)

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Bad romantic choices run through generations.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
Diversion Books published my first two books and I hope eventually they will be game for this one, too.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
I started writing this book in 2001. My most recent draft is dated May 2007. Since then, I’ve carved a screenplay out of it, and am now focusing on making it a novella. (I’m all about re-working what I think is a good idea until I get it right. I’m tireless that way!)

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
If it was compared to The Hours, I think that might be cool.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?
Initially, pain. Then perseverance. In all honesty, I always develop a great attachment to my characters, and it really distresses me that the ones in this story have been hanging out in some purgatorial waiting room all this time. They deserve to be heard, to have their stories known, so I’m inspired by that to keep going!

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
All of my books can be read on many levels, and touch various nerves emotionally, socially, even politically. So while this book is about the awkwardness and insecurities that can sometimes go along with falling in love, it’s also about living with secrets, some of them dark, that spark that awkwardness and insecurity. If we all walked into relationships as clean slates, how different would these relationships be!

~~~

Please check out the posts for the following authors next week. You will not be disappointed! And thanks for dropping by!

Sara Palacios
Shawndra Russell
Cindy Roesel
Sarah Hitchcock
Monique McDonell

4 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing: Authors Tagging Authors

Leave a Reply

